Nursing 

I have had a love/hate relationship with the nursing profession for over 35 years. It is a job I love to do but a profession  I don’t feel I belong to and the have been numerous colleagues I have found it hard to understand, relate to or feel I have anything at all in common with, I have felt an outsider for a very long time. 

I have found the lack of critical faculties and the defensive posturing of some of my fellow RGNs tiresome and perplexing. Even in Higher Education I have encountered colleagues  who have been openly hostile about Doctoral studies, an anti-intellectual stance that continues to be a common position. 

We don’t stand together and where are the courageous leaders who seek clarity and honesty? 

We need to stop hiding behind the angelic mythology of the caring, devoted nurse. Speak out about why a degree is essential in nursing and that not understanding research and numbers is no longer cool or acceptable. We need to champion clever nurses, celebrate nurses who ask difficult questions and stop being bitchy and difficult. 

2 thoughts on “Nursing 

Leave a Reply

