Getting out there

I went to my first small business meeting this week. It was a session about how to use LinkedIn to help increase your business sales. I have to confess to being extremely nervous as I drove to the event and considered wimping out BUT felt I needed to push myself in 2016. 

It was a great event and I chatted to others and felt comfortable explaining what I did, why I am doing it without an edge or anger. I had to right an upturned sheep this week and I knew what to do and I was calm. I think there were many lessons in my week and this was one of them. 

I have realised that going out and about as a facilitator of new ways of working won’t be effective if I am angry and have an axe to grind. Being calm and confident at this event meant people have listened and I know that given time and the right communication I will get to facilitate a creative session with folk in their workplace. 

Focussing on what I want to do and also going about trying new things is the way forward. I am reading Radical Acceptance by Tara Brach at the moment, a book I have owned for about 3 years – I bought it when I was on the coaching course when I was learning about self-compassion etc.in leadership.  I am now reading it with committment (in contrast to my usual skimming technique) and already feel the benefit but also realise that  the last 6 months have been about a process of letting go of old habits that have not worked for me. I will share more soon . 

 

Leave a Reply

